Post processing

While I try to gather by budget, I never stopped learning and reading about photography. Until I will have the camera so I can truly start down this road I discover new things every day.

I observed a certain aspect in a pro-photographer’s career that is used by everyone without fail: post processing. Apparently no matter how good you are, in certain conditions you can only get the best of a certain photo. Even though you have the best conditions (starting with the camera and ending with the weather outside) every photo can be substantially improved with image software (Photoshop, Corel Paint Shop and so on).

Since I’m in the beginning and for the moment buying a full license for the latest Photoshop is inaccessible for me right now, I decided to go with a basic Photoshop version (Adobe Photoshop CS3) to brush on my skills and start applying some of the concepts I read and see online.

There are tons of tutorials out there (starting with a basic google search or a YouTube search) out of which you can choose exactly the direction and final product your work would look like.

Below I added some images (thanks to Pininterest) to “paint” the final product I would like my work to look like.

 kid20dramatic20sky_zps8iwyftmx

I liked in this one the clouds dramatic effect and the overall dreamy effect of the photo.

 

b82f602a7cb8a94395f1e1ad85811f69

I’m blown away after looking at this one (and no, its not because of the girl). It’s a total make over. The “after” photo looks “alive”. I love the color of the grass (with darker and lighter shades that come brilliantly in contrast with  the sky. Also by increasing the contrast and making the skin also brighter with that glowy effect on the hair, it just blew my mind. I like the whole scene mainly because the final art-work came out natural, without exaggerating the photo manipulation.

 

kid20grass_zps1qsxn0uh

In this one I liked the equilibrium made by erasing the girls leg. Now it seems the photo is balanced. Colors, contrast, the rich colors tones, everything improved a lot.

 

05c8e25d2478f0f3f0f98bc2379e4469

I the above I like the sharpness and the effect on the swimming bottom. Everything is cleared now and accentuated. Contrast is also higher (between the hair’s color, the blue and the white)

3437a6caa0b155f1d3bd1b33501b6be2

Its all about the clarity and enhancing the angelic look. Loved this effect.

0bfee38e510f8222f3a3fe234115c658

Beautiful dramatic effect. Tones are completely changed giving an entire new perspective. The eyes are amazing in the after-photo.

So to sum it up, this is my next step. Until I get my hands on my camera, I will focus more on post-processing and image editing.  I do consider it a must in any photographer’s future.

Leave a Reply

