My first camera is here

Finally the camera arrived…a few days back…I was a little bit caught up with work so I didn’t had time to play around on it. Yesterday I spent an entire afternoon checking videos online from “how to insert a card in the camera” to “how to shoot in manual mode” and much more. YouTube is full of people that are doing a great job of explaining every little button and option on the camera.

In terms of technical skills regarding the camera I think I “scratched the surface”. As for the other skills I have a long way to go.

By the way, I switched my camera option last minute and I bought the D7100 instead of the D5300 like we agreed I’d buy. I don’t have a logical reason behind this decision I just went with the thrill…sometimes I take passionate decisions not logical ones.

Anyways, I will try to keep a notebook, and I will shoot in different times of the day and different lighting conditions, with different aperture and focus points and ISO and different other options…so I can get an understanding on how the camera reacts in different conditions. And all of this because I don’t want to shoot in “auto-mode” – I’m only shooting in Manual mode (I read it somewhere its better like this – I don’t know if it’s true but we will see).

So in the evening I went out with some friends and try out my skills. Some of the photos were amazingly awful and I think I had a few which I can label them as OK (not good but OK). Below some examples of my first photos.

03_zpsqemgcdoe

What can I tell you about the photo … by mistake although I wanted to focus on them I focused on the background… also the timing was very bad (both of the subjects) ….more than that – no flash… more than that – a lot of “noise” in the photo… I was watching the photo in my home and I didn’t find ANY good think I done about this photo

Moving on

01_zpsd3ycxifp

Again…focused on the background not on the subject….no flash…this time I managed to improve the timings (at least all of the subjects were facing in the same directions…some of them smiling)…still a lot of noise in the photo…still an awful photo (at least in my standards)

Moving on

02_zpseui3e18f

It gets better and better….no it doesn’t…I managed to focus on one of the subjects…but because of the shutter speed too slow (and maybe because I was shaking the camera) the other 2 subjects were out of focused….at least this time they were all smiling and the background had a little bit of blur…no flash again (boy it took me some time to realize to shoot with flash) ….I liked the framing and I think it would have been a very nice photo if I’d had all the technical skills to shoot it with the right camera options

Moving on

06_zpsq7gswl5p

I think its too bright…and too “noisy”…and not perfectly focused…I didn’t cropped it or Photoshop-ed it (if I can invent a new word)…I used the flash this time (obviously some might say) …I like the pose and the fact that is a little bit tilted…also the subject is smiling….overall its an OK photo….below my desired standards but like my friend use to say “what to do?”

Leave a Reply

