Still learning

I went a couple of days ago to Kite Beach trying to catch my first Dubai sunrise. On the way I realized that the sunrise will not be from the sea side but from the land side. I was not discouraged and I planned to get the best out of this session with…Martin and Ana of course.

I shoot again in RAW with the Nikon D7100. Most of the session I didn’t used any flash. No other photography accessory, just the camera and the lens.

This is what it came out.

01_zpsavvaga2n

This was shoot just as the sun was rising. The lens flare is Photoshoped. I tempered also with the exposure levels. Framing wise and perspective wise I like it. I did also a few shoots with the sun positioned exactly behind their heads. I would have loved the colors to be more vivid. An OK photo overall.

02_zps7lmpfeo9

Ana and Martin watching the sea – I modified the image in photoshop deleting the “can buoy” (its a floating ball placed in the water to divide boundaries of both swimmers and boats). There were yellow “can buoy’s” and I wanted to make the sea “clean”. I also cropped the imaged and tempered a little bit with the brightness and exposure levels.

04_zps047jxzrc

Ana and Martin watching the sea (different angle) – focus point was on Ana living Martin and the background blurred. I would have preferred the colors to be a little more vivid and also the framing with a little more space in the left (exposing more beach and sea).

05_zpsdpzozsz9

Ana and Martin watching the sea (different angle) – unfortunately I didn’t capture Martin trying to “hug” Ana (its barely visible). I should have chosen a different angle. In spite of this I like the image overall.

06_zpskrdn1i5p The Burj Al Arab – in the background I wanted to catch the Burj Al Arab but not in focus – focus was on Ana and Martin (I made a few shoots with the Burj Al Arab in focus and the Nikon D7100 did a great job).  I would also cropped more the image in the left side narrowing the gap between the image border and Ana’s hand. I tempered a little bit with the exposure level.

07_zpso6kvlhd6

Zoom on Ana – I like the image a lot. I like the warm light on the face and the nice bookeh in the background. Framing and perspective are exactly like I picture it. I think its a good image.

09_zpsuhy4vplv

Under the umbrella – I tempered heavily with the exposure, brightness and contrast of the image. Unfortunately I didn’t try also to catch other angles. This is the only perspective I got. Rewinding back the time I feel sorry for not having tried different perspectives.

10_zps103zch6y

I like a lot this image. I tempered with the exposure, brightness and contrast levels. The best part about the image is I think the framing and Ana’s pose next to Martin – it feels genuine.

11_zpsuny8rfw5

Ana gathering oysters  – Framing and perspective is OK. I shoot multiple instances just to catch also the wave splashing  in the background. This is exactly what I wanted from this image.

12-1_zpsmocgn6el

Oysters and black rocks – this is a heavily modified image. Exposure, brightness and contrast redefined. Also as you can see the sea is clear (below I attached the imaged with the yacht in the background and the buoys).

12-2_zps8hq4dsxe

The above image has all the original elements on the sea .

13_zpstqx9g6tu

Ana receives a gift from Martin – I would modified the colors more to be more vivid. Maybe I would have tried also another perspective (tilting the image a little bit).

14_zpsrtsuxsrp

This is a broken oyster – in focus – on a pile of sand. Done using the Nikon D7100.

15_zps5418dg3e

And this is a photo of Ana taken through the broken oyster with the Nikon D7100 and the lens described in the photo. Maybe for a pro this doesn’t look like much. But I was mind blown.

Other conclusions after this shooting? Well I need to build a scenario of poses when I’m going for a shoot. I have a lot of great poses and perspectives on my phone saved from Pinterest but on the spot I forget about some of them. While I was taken pictures I kept remember some of them but I was already in another point with the shooting so I could have not gone back.

Leave a Reply

