Cropping and post-processing

I went out a few days back to take some photos with Ana and Martin this time. I decided to go in Zabeel Park (its very close to Dubai World Trade Center). I used the same camera, Nikon D 7100 with AF-S DX Nikkor 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G VR. Only shoot in Manual Mode, with Spot Metering on.The images were modified with Adobe Photoshop CS 3.

In post-processing my goal was to improve photos but in the same time to crop some of them to see if I can discover other great photo perspectives. Below I uploaded the photos before and after processing.

01201_zpshha3410q

Framing wise its not exactly what I wished for. I would have prefer the left side and the bottom side to be a little bit different. In post-processing I think the image got better. Also I removed the stain from the bench. Played around with luminosity, contrast level as well.

01202_zpslz5tzkui

Colors are brighter and the left and bottom edge of the image looks better now – at least in my vision. Also the bench is “clean” now.

01203_zpsy7sbzsxg

I tried also to crop Martin’s upper part – I think on a real human being it will look much better.

02201_zpsiq7fdvkg

The main focus here was to catch them sharp with a bookeh effect. I only played around with the contrast/luminosity as per the image below.

02202_zpsqwscmema

Moving on

03202_zpsbqz3xpke

I like the original shot in terms of colors and framing. In spite of this I tempered with the contrast/luminosity a little bit trying to bring the colors to life.

03201_zps51g8qjmu

I think the result its better than the original.

The next photo has the same set up – more or less.

04201_zpsobp4jx34

My aim in this one was to brighten up the colors, blur a little bit more the flower in the left and try to crop the image to see what other image I can obtain. Below its the result after post processing.

04202_zpszicia6no

04203_zpsfczyxen0

I like much more the result after processing.

Moving on.

05201_zpsu3ekkghw

In this photo I tried to obtain in post-processing brighter colors and a better framing. I cropped the image so the top side would not be visible.

05202_zpswqu3vsec

In the next image the goals were the same – brightening up colors and cropping a little bit the image.

06201_zpsgxok0xwh

The bottom side of the image didn’t fit right in with the rest of the image – at least in my vision. Below is the final result.

06202_zpsvduqx3bd

I had a a few variations for the next one.

07201_zpskwbwntvb

I wanted to “clean” this elements from the stairs to make a more artistic image. Also I modified the luminosity and contrast of the original image. Below is the result.

07202_zpsscozjnpu

And the black-white variation.

07203_zpsqix2rwe2

And after cropping

07204_zpsoq27yrw9

In this image Martin is actually not in focus – not sharp enough. I wanted the whole picture to be in focus (next time I need to remember to go with f22 and increase the ISO more)

08201_zpsyvk2guoz

Main goal in this image was to intensify the contrast, reduce the luminosity and “clean” the unwanted elements from the stairs.

08202_zpsh6wd4sa8

And the black-white variation

08203_zpsn6uhuubc

I’ve tempered here with the shadows accentuating the dramatic effect of the image.

09201_zpshut6azmp

For the next image I planned to brighten up the colors again and to crop the image to see if I can get a better result.

09202_zpsp8di5vpl

The image looks slightly better. Not entirely happy with the result. Since all the images were processed one after another I think I as beginning to feel tired when I reach this one. I didn’t worked on it until I was completely satisfied with the result.

09203_zpsyxyjzqg4

This one looks much better.

10201_zpsyrhgdgzz

I tilted the camera trying to catch also the stream of water completely. I didn’t bring my tripod with me (a variation of this photo I would have loved to do was with a long exposure so the water from the stream would have been more smooth). Also clearly I would have use a diffuse to reduce the hard light and smooth out the shadows on the subject’s face.

10202_zpsuihcn0qj

Better? Maybe. Perfect? Hardly. Ana looks like she has sunburns all over her skin.

11201_zpsve8qdhyo

Framing wise I was aiming for symmetry in this one – the water stream in the left with the trees/tall building in the right. Again, I would have used the tripod for a long exposure (to crate a nice smooth effect of the water stream) and the difusser to reduce the light intensity. I cropped also the bottom side of the image and fix the rock dents.

11202_zpsgt57tbrh

In the next image, my aim was to play with the reflection of Martin and Ana on the black rock. Brighten up the colors a little, remove the unwanted elements from the black rock and also crop the bottom side of the image a little bit were also goals for this image.

12201_zps8dkutpar

And the result

12202_zpsjvtlddqz

Moving on.

13201_zps3w7aoaql

I like pretty much the original image. I decided still to tempered with the contrast/ luminosity and to try to crop the image. Here I could have use also a reflector or a light source to bring a little more luminosity on the subject.

13202_zpsfen3t9pt

13203_zpsgq6ngtiu

I think the final result looks slightly better.

15201_zpsmc1jqo1j

In terms of framing and perspective I got what I wanted. In post-processing I wanted just to see if a different cropping will result in a better photo. The contrast/brightness has been adjusted in spite of the hard light coming from the sun.

15202_zpsou6ivhqu

15203_zps0ffmnnb6

The cropping image looks certainly better (at least in my opinion).

In the next image I didn’t want to crop anything. Just a littlebit of post-processing, “playing” with the light/contrast and brighten up the colors with the “color burn” tool in Photoshop.

The original image looks like this.

16201_zps2eq0himz

I removed also the light reflector from the image.

16202_zps3apjuf1w

In my final image selected I decided to remove in post-processing the ice-cream cart and “fix” the pavement. It was the image I worked on it the longest. Not really sure because I don’t have adequate Photoshop skills or because it was indeed a challenging job.

17201_zpsmajmfdhl

17202_zpsrszh0i2r

And the black-white variation

17203_zpsmqzxrdqb

As a conclusion , after many images I observed that I need additional lighting sources and in some cases (especially in hard light conditions – when the light from the sun comes directly on the subject) – a diffuser.

Leave a Reply

