Al Bastakiya and the Souk

In the last month I took a longer break due to the holidays. At the end of December I decided to visit Al Bastakiya (a possible future shooting location). Same camera – Nikon D7100 with the same lens – AF-S Nikkor 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G VR with a hood mounted on. I shoot in Aperture priority this time and in Shutter Priority with Auto-ISO on in RAW format. I used Spot Metering and Zone Metering on with either 9 or 51 focus points active.

The post processing was done in Lightroom/Photoshop. Still struggling to find my way around it. It’s very complex and it covers most demands.  I experimented a lot with different hues (I made also some presets for future use). Below this is what I got.

On my way there, I stumble upon a very mixed area, between new and old. I like the repetitive pattern in this photo.

al_bastakiya201_zpsluhim2go

In the next one, I loved the pavement and the feeling of “being at home”. The bikes are just left outside and in the background you can see people relaxing on the chairs.

al_bastakiya202_zpsuvcmj8a8

The Gas Trucks – a common site you see in the suburbs. I loved also the authentic background. From Saloon and Mobile stores until Supermarkets and Textiles shops.

al_bastakiya203_zpszsmnkil2

And I arrived in Al Bastakiya. History is everywhere here. I imagined the photo here divided in 3 : the green, the bench/wall and the floor.

al_bastakiya204_zpsghlphpvw

The next image I would have preferred to crop it more from the left side and have a bigger view on the right. I was focused on the lamps.

al_bastakiya205_zpsfqxux4qz

I loved the symmetry in this one. I found this picture much more attractive in b/w than in color.

al_bastakiya206_zpsagj09uxl

Perfect to have a romantic cup of coffee or a Moroccan Tea. Still so strange to find a Christmas tree in this location .

al_bastakiya207_zpsocivehzx

I saw this image as a big contrast between the green (life) and the walls/floor (lifeless form).

al_bastakiya208_zpsr5wl2hvc

In the next one I just liked the sunlight how is reflecting on the building and the building reflection on the floor.

al_bastakiya209_zpsyrujnw0f

This type of place will always remind me about Dubai – only the tea and a Sheesha is missing.

al_bastakiya2010_zpsmmsu6gjm

In the next one I liked the door a lot. The wooden color and the model handcrafted on it.

al_bastakiya2011_zpsxmzxipgz

There were a lot of UAE flags on this alley and it seemed like a Celebration. The angle is a little bit awkward (I mean I would have taken the picture different if I knew the final result).

al_bastakiya2012_zps1dd1utsk

I found this part of the tower beautiful from this angle. Revealing the test of time on the walls, having also on top clouds and a clear sky exactly like in any country’s history – this is one of my favorite top 3 in this photo shoot.

al_bastakiya2013_zpsjg05ipfj

In the next one I loved the contrast between the buildings and the sky. Also liked the architecture again.

al_bastakiya2014_zps8a3mgweq

Looking at the next one I immediately think about Zorro or the Assassins Creed games. Perspective and composition wise I like the tower in the middle with the sky and the UAE flags sideways.

al_bastakiya2015_zpsznse17tk

The only thing missing from the next one was one person sitting directly where the sun light beam is illuminating the alley. I think that would have been a great image. At the least in my humble opinion.

al_bastakiya2016_zpsnnkmhzsd

Walking around Al Bastakiya, at some point you can discover a genuine Bedouin tent with all the pots that used to be used by the locals long ago. I like this image because of its authenticity.

al_bastakiya2017_zps4fp6x35h

In terms of perspective and framing this is exactly what I wished for from this image. In terms of colors I wish I could have made more combination to see which one fits best.

al_bastakiya2018_zps28udjgzy

One of my favorite top 3 images from this shoot. I like the composition and the colors after post processing.

al_bastakiya2019_zps5h8msm0j

For the next one I’m not very happy with the framing /perspective. In terms of color, the only acceptable (at least in my view) combination was b/w.

al_bastakiya2020_zpsthcvvfxe

This is an image of a roof. I loved the wooden color and the texture of this.

al_bastakiya2021_zps2p54y20l

The next one I like it especially for the convergence – the alley converges in the white building in front. I think it would have been perfect if a person would walk by and the timing would change to that exact time.

al_bastakiya2022_zpssbiz4u9i

Al Fahidi’s Fort Wall

al_bastakiya2023_zpsnsrdyyc6

A Street full of textile shops in old part of Dubai. Love this atmosphere.

Abra’s crossing the creek. They cost 1 dirham (aprox 30 $ cents) and they will get you from one side off the creek to the other. I liked the whole dynamic in the Creek Side.

al_bastakiya2025_zpsu4hswbzs

Another way to go around Dubai is in the Tour Bus – Hop On, Hop Off. I liked the image’s perspective giving the feeling you are right there in traffic.

al_bastakiya2026_zpstjqsakyv

And this is the amphibian bus. The rest of the photo breathes Middle East – all white cars and the Arabic architecture. Of course when I took the photo I didn’t took into consideration everything – it was just a perfect timing.

al_bastakiya2027_zpsv2vzqqua

Did I said amphibian? Below is the reason why.

al_bastakiya2028_zpsxw4octjj

I like this explosion of color in the Souk (Souk in Arabic means Market).

al_bastakiya2029_zpsrz4lgzf4

Textures and colors. This is what I liked the most about this image

al_bastakiya2030_zpsukpkfz9r

Typical Arabic lamps. Seen them many times in coffee shops.

al_bastakiya2031_zps2eqg16ky

Spices…peanuts…different herbs…colors and colors

al_bastakiya2032_zpse4buznjl

Handmade jewelry

al_bastakiya2033_zpsbhd3xtmh

This ends my photo shoot. Typically there is a place for every culture in Dubai’s cosmopolitan environment. Discovering an Indonesian artifact shop was amazing.

al_bastakiya2034_zpsfrfcq4fk

Leave a Reply

