Al Bastakiya – Colors and Details

As I was walking around Al Bastakiya in the old part of Dubai, I just got a moment of inspiration to capture a different type of perspective. I went from seeing the big  picture to capture the small details that we usually overlook.

As in terms of equipment I used the same camera and lens – Nikon D7100 with AF-S Nikkor 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G VR with a hood. I shoot in Manual Mode only, in RAW format. I used Spot Metering. All the Post-processing was done only in Lightroom no Photoshop. The photo session lasted aprox 1h and no more than 100-120 frames were shot.

I used the biggest Apperture possible. Sometimes in some images the Shutter Speed was around 1/60s. If I remember correctly there were a couple of shoots that I used also the “Auto-ISO” on.

One thing has changed in Post-Processing since my last sessions. I started to develop a workflow and because I’m using my own Customize Presets, I can run very quickly through all the different pictures and the way they look in different chromatic options. The post processing (including the selection time) took me about 4-5h for about 120 images. Only 29 made the cut for display.

01201_zps9bdem65i

I’m wondering with a Macro Lens what was the result for the next one?

01202_zpsodakbswv

The next one is one of my favorite image since I’ve started in photography. Its in my top 3 favorites. I love the contrast between the padlock and the door. And the door color in this light is …

01203_zpsf1bkaacg

I couldn’t decide if the next one looks better in B/W or in my custom chromatic option. I’ve posted both of them.

01205_zpsmd4rc53x

And in this chromatic it reminds me of the battle chariots from Ancient Roman time…

01204_zpsotlzqtis

The same goes for the next image. It was a question to go B/W or my custom chromatic option.

01207_zpsj5dzmtvl

And the other option would be…

01206_zps2dhxuqcl

A different perspective of looking at the same object…

01208_zps376ul557

What I found interesting in the next image was the fact that the painting was huge (7 m by 3 m high – 20feet by 10 feet high) and it was consisting only from arabic letters.

01209_zpsxblckzu3

Wood through the ages. Imagine for how many people this wood provided support.

012010_zpsiso9t2kb

And sometimes its also best to look up. You never know who’s watching

012011_zpsxs6zj8ag

Everyone dealt with a lot of boxes through the life. How many times you see a wooden box which hides such a valuable thing. This is how Art “traveled”.

012012_zpslmnzctkd

In the next images, I’ve displayed a new perspectives on…doors…this is the first one…

012013_zpswhkcns6l

This the the second one

012014_zpscqg4kzbj

This is the third one

012015_zpsyisl1hcm

The fourth one

012020_zpsjrjnvwrn

And the last one

012016_zpsw3sxsaay

Fallowing with a set of images about … rocks

012017_zpsv7idcsap

I would have loved the next image even more if the whole image was in focus. On the spot, I didn’t checked the sharpness level after I shot it. You can tell its blurry. The chromatic is exactly what I wanted however the sharpness doesn’t exist.

012018_zpswnetnmi1

Intermediate

012024_zps1l18wdxu

And clean

012026_zps12bpca9g

For the next one I think t would have been a better idea to remove the wire for a clean interaction between the lamp and the wall…

012019_zpsnxeyqjty

I liked the wood color and the flowers in the background. It crates a strong contrast – at least in my view.

012021_zpsxqxpql3p

Usually I take into consideration the Rule of 3rd- in this one seems I forgot about it.

012022_zpskpbiih0h

Typical seating area in Arabic culture

012023_zpsw9m1qznp

In the next one I liked the chair’s model.

012025_zpsr7cxzxkv

Even in the most difficult conditions you can grow – this is how I would define this cactus that grown green between sand and rocks

012027_zpstlo2ohtd

Another way to look at a tree

012028_zpse9faayu2

Let you guess the object and the perspective of this one

012029_zpsc36hdvzd

These are the stairs leading to one of the most nicest cafe in Al Bastakiya

012030_zpsujpydgjm

Some things stayed together even in spite of the test of time – this is how I visioned this image.

012031_zpscnn0mmni

 

Leave a Reply

