Kite Beach – Details and Colors

Again to Kite Beach – again to make some mistakes with the camera so we can learn from them. Around 9AM I was on the Kite Beach next to Jumeira Road in Dubai.

I used the same camera and lens – Nikon D7100 with AF-S Nikkor 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G VR with a hood. I shoot in Manual Mode only, in RAW format. I used Spot Metering. All the Post-processing was done only in Lightroom no Photoshop. The photo session lasted aprox 1h and 160 frames were shot. The post processing (including the selection time) took me about 4-5h. Only 27 made the cut for display.

I’m glad in recent photo shootings I started to adjust my shooting mode – I no longer shoot for quantity but for quality. I take into consideration more things before pressing the shutter button. Thus I dropped from hundreds of photos taken to maybe 25-30% of what I was shooting before. I stated also to find some positive aspects in my photos, which I think is a step forward.

The first image from the set I chose it because I find very calming. I find it very relaxing. I removed a lot of elements from the original image. The colors are obviously tempered with. I like the final product.

dsc_5012_zps1zriclhb

The next one was taken based on the same principle : sea, freedom, relaxation, endless possibilities.

dsc_5013_zpsc16flng8

Moving on to our first friend we made today. This is the maximum zoom I was able to achieve. The Aperture was wide open because I wanted to catch only our friend’s details. I’m glad even the original image (6000×4000) has all the details in place. Lightroom intervention was minimum for this image.

dsc_5031_zpsfpbtwcv3

Our next friend was capture in a slightly different manner. I wanted to be at the ground level and capture all 3 elements as well (earth, water and sky). I would have preferred a more blurred background and foreground.

dsc_5042_zps39cubkdu

Chaos – this is what I would define this image. Small, big, cracked, full, upside down, inside out shells. Sometimes I think its better to interrupt fallowing a pattern, not fallowing symmetry or other rules.

dsc_5043_zpsonwut4ct

The next one is one of my favorite images from the whole shooting today.I shoot a set of 10-12 images with the waive crashing – this one I liked the most. I think the waive would be even more in focus if I had increased the shutter speed and focusing on the waive rather than the wooden logs on the left.

dsc_5054_zpsplr5hgav

The more I look at the next image, the more I think it would have been better in B/W. Maybe next time.

dsc_5057_zpsznt6tw1n

I like the blurred background and foreground on the next one. What I don’t like is the angle in which I approached the image. I was supposed to be a little bit higher. At least in my artistic view. Only Lightroom was used to bring out the colors in the image.

dsc_5060_zpszlkutqas

The next one is also in Top 3 Images from the set I shoot today. I’m glad that even the RAW file came out very sharp. I’m starting to fall in love (again) with my camera and my lens.

dsc_5068_zpsorewkysg

I’m 100% sure that the next image would look amazing if it was not tilted. I loved the contrast between the wooden/rope and the sky/sea. I dont know why I’ve tilted the image. Lack of inspiration maybe.

dsc_5071_zps0o3d5puh

And this is the full fence where I tried the perspectives above.

dsc_5073_zpsov08p7ag

The next image enters in my Top 5 All time images taken – in my humble heart. My “friend” came out in perfect focus top to bottom. The image is a little bit tilted. I loved the whole vibe of the image.

dsc_5081_zpsiuclbdsy

Golden Shells Rocks – would be the title of this image. At some point the sea washed away all the shells in one corner of the beach (yes, the beach has corners in Dubai – that’s how cool it is around here hahaha )

dsc_5091_zpsv0pvlnu4

Dramatic touch – added a dramatic touch in Lightroom for the next one.  Its the top side of a wooden log.

dsc_5092_zpsuzc4cc0a

From the original image, I removed a lot of the elements for the final product. Here it is.

dsc_5094_zpsuvww1psq

I like the colors a lot in the next image. And I love the contrast. A lot of Lightroom time was put in this image.

dsc_5096_zps7cnfvqn9

The first time I’ve picture the next image in my head, I was imagining a glacier. I would have like that the whole wooden should have been in focus so the full texture would be displayed. The left part is out of focus.

dsc_5097_zpsbnlrbgrg

Most beautiful shell I’ve seen so far today at the beach.

dsc_5118_zpswlidfou0

There are 2 essential differences between the next 2 images : the first one is tempered with in Lightroom for a much warmer tone while the other is modified towards a much colder tone. I tend to think the second image is nicer.

dsc_5121_zpsnmdk9pbt

And the one with the colder tone overall :

dsc_5122_zpselnshr6p

Wooden texture – my weakness.

dsc_5123_zpsxxkjds2u

The photoshoot ended with some concept images with the main focus being an – umbrella. Here it goes.

dsc_5150_zps93hpto87

And with a different perspective :

dsc_5148_zps4efrpcol

And of course B/W – although I wish the umbrella would have been position a little bit different – in the same time I could have tackle the image differently of course. I tried to crop the image and I got much more better results.

dsc_5154_zpseeuhvmmv

Different angle all together :

dsc_5162_zpsjehanb4x

With a retro effect (its one of my presets in Lightroom). Its a strange image the next one. And not “interesting strange” but “creepy strange”. At least in my “artistic eye”.

dsc_5147_zpsxjhvzya0

And last one :

dsc_5129_zps253a4qso

Leave a Reply

