Fish,diamonds and star dust

What does all the above have in common? You can find all of them and much more in the old part of Dubai. Deira Fish Market, Dubai Gold Souk, Deira Creek.

I went today on the other side of the Creek to learn more – not only about photography but also about Dubai. The weather was rainy today, 21 degrees around 10AM. Below there is also a map with the exact location of my “quest” today.

map_zpsccz16mwu

I used the same camera and lens – Nikon D7100 with AF-S Nikkor 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G VR with a hood. I shoot in Manual Mode only (sometimes with AUTO-ISO on), in RAW format. For a few shoots I used the Flash because the light was quite low and by using the ISO I would have to go above 6400 making the image useless. I used Spot Metering. All the Post-processing was done only in Lightroom no Photoshop. The photo session lasted aprox 2h and 99 frames were shot. The post processing (including the selection time) took me about 4-5h. Only 35 made the cut for display. Not all of them are “post-card material” however all of them represent something in today’s shoot.

Here it goes

dsc_5179_zpsfiuqahdt

I used the Flash since the light was quite low. I couldn’t stress to much the fishermans with trying a new angle for the shoot but I would have preferred a more close approach on the fish sections. I was overwhelmed actually with all the smiles and the “welcoming behavior” even tough I told’em I’m not buying anything – just I want to take a photo.

dsc_5180_zps1xw9bvxt

Line up and ready to go. I used the Flash option again. Framing wise is exactly what I wished from the image.

dsc_5182_zpsyw6esmof

I just remember the movie Predator after I’ve seen this shoot. The next shoot will help more in clearing the mistery.

dsc_5183_zpsopvfojw5

For the next image I don’t know exactly whats the name of this “sea fruit”. The same – Flash used and the post processing in Lightroom.

dsc_5184_zpsarrxwedr

I don’t see an priceless artistic value with the next image – I just wanted to zoom in on the tentacles and maybe catch the octopus eyes. Mission failed.

dsc_5185_zpshjtwlycm

For the next image I think I catched also the fish’s eggs on top of its head (ok, I don’t know if fish is the correct term and also I don’t know for sure if that is the head).

dsc_5186_zpsqagyyrxq

Moving on to some life forms that I actually know their name and seen them before.

dsc_5187_zpsyxpt04bh

The same goes for the next image as well. Delicious!

dsc_5188_zpsjec1no1h

For the next “fellows” I never had the pleasure to taste them. Next time I should ask if there is a restaurant in the area who can cook all these “guys”.

dsc_5190_zpshggw0vih

After all these creatures, I managed to find also some regular fishes. I didn’t had the best inspiration when I took the picture. If I look back now, I’s quite a common/dull image.

dsc_5191_zpsaumltkul

And last one from this set.

dsc_5193_zpsryutxwyg

The next set was shoot in the Gold Souk. Same day. Same camera and lens. The images don’t really aim for an artistic value. The perspective is the same for all the images – me outside the window shooting. I played around with the images a little bit in Lightroom. This is the result.

dsc_5197_zpso7fg6cgq

Different image with a different preset applied.

dsc_5198_zps25gqqxoh

Only diamonds in the next one.

dsc_5199_zps7xlbqegr

Back to gold. To a lot of gold.

dsc_5205_zpseggnsod6

With different displays. Violet.

dsc_5209_zpsbmz3pask

Grey.

dsc_5210_zpsa7b0nyzn

Blue.

dsc_5211_zpsocw8vb6z

And for my own info – this is the price of gold today in the Souk (1$ = 3.68 AED):

dsc_5208_zpsp11nm1i0

Moving on to a new set – spices. This is my favorite set from the shoot. If the images look a little bit grainy, its because I stopped using the Flash and switch to the AUTO-ISO for these ones.

dsc_5215_zpsxrnriktf

I don’t know the names of all, I just know these look good on camera.

dsc_5216_zpsaivfb8qd

Red was missing of course (so my country’s flag is complete now)

dsc_5217_zpszcggbl6r

In the next one, the cosmic level of noise can be easily seen.

dsc_5218_zpstnhyzxhy

The above image plus the next one are in Top 3 Images from today’s shoot.

dsc_5221_zpsyxleadab

More colors. And textures.

dsc_5222_zpsvgfysvh6

Next one look very similar to a sweet desert.

dsc_5226_zpsncwpbrdu

Zoom in even more.

dsc_5227_zpsikrmriot

The smell was so nice. And people were burning this to each store.

dsc_5224_zpsm4dzurkr

And there were many more.

dsc_5225_zpsv9e2jzck

The last set has the least number of images. I was getting a little bit tired from all this walking. This is the famous “Abra” – the 1 dirham per crossing boat.

dsc_5229_zpssiqv0mo9

Lunch Break

dsc_5237_zpsq8jvbb9h

I found the next image so typical for Dubai : in the foreground the old type of ships and the background the new modern ones. Its typical because in Dubai the old culture comes together with the modern one. And Arabic culture comes together with the Western and Eastern World.

dsc_5245_zpswmwrtoyu

In the next image, the “wise guys” putting things together.

dsc_5255_zpsy7dguacx

And last image for the day.

dsc_5266_zps5d71dgbn

2 thoughts on “Fish,diamonds and star dust

Leave a Reply

